The R&A Official Home of Golf

St Andrews

The R&A
Formed in 2004. and based in St Andrews, The R&A seeks to engage in and support activities that are undertaken for the benefit of the game of golf. It takes its name from The Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews, the members' club that, before 2004, had responsibility for the game but from which The R&A is now separate and distinct.

The R&A organises The Open, golf’s oldest Major, along with a number of other amateur and junior events, some of which are sanctioned by other golfing bodies. In addition, The R&A assumes responsibility for the administration of the Rules of Golf with the consent of 152 organisations from the amateur and professional game, and on behalf of over 30 million golfers in 138 countries throughout Europe, Africa, Asia-Pacific and the Americas.

For the USA and Mexico, the USGA is the governing body, an organisation with whom The R&A has jointly issued the Rules of Golf since 1952.

Link Here to the official website of the R&A

The R&A Heritage Department safeguards 600 years of golfing history from its base in St Andrews. Responsible for the collections of The Royal and Ancient Golf Club and British Golf Museum, the Museum and Heritage Curators care for around 1,400 golf clubs, 700 golf balls and 1,000 trophies and medals dating from the late 17th century to the present day.

These form just part of the collections. In addition, valuable works of art, historical Rules of Golf books, Club minutes and archive material, clothing, film and audio archives, golf equipment and more all fall within their collections care remit......... Read More 
























Rules articles by Rhodes Rules School

Welcome to my Rhodes Rules School web site, an indispensable resource for anyone who wishes to improve their knowledge and understanding of the Rules of Golf. Together with my weekly blog, "Rhodes Rules School" email series and my eBook,"999 Updated Questions on the Rules of Golf 2012 – 2015″, I am confident that I can help golfers, no matter what their handicap, with my 'no cost'/'low cost' Rules tools.
Please pass on this link to others that you know with an interest in the Rules.

Good Golfing!
Barry Rhodes
Barry Rhodes Barry is the author of '999 Updated Questions on the Rules of Golf 2012-2015', the easiest and most enjoyable way to absorb and understand the Rules. He is an enthusiastic, high handicap golfer, resident in Dublin, Ireland, who developed an interest, then a fascination, and now an obsession with the Rules of Golf. Barry's relationship with the Rules began in 2000 with his participation in the inter-club Rules of Golf quiz competitions, organised by the Royal & Ancient for Golf Clubs in Great Britain and Ireland. This then led to him writing articles, running quizzes, and delivering presentations on the Rules at a variety of Golf Club and corporate functions. In March 2008, Barry became the first person to achieve a 100% correct mark on the public Advanced Rules of Golf Course examination, run by the PGA in their headquarters at The Belfry, West Midlands, UK. Having blogged since December 2008 Barry hopes that you will check out some of his previous blogs by clicking on the months/years below.

Follow Barry on his Blog Page or simply sign up for his enjoyable and informative weekly rules explanations.
Great books available for purchase online from Barry.

Barrys eBook "999 Updated Questions on the Rules of Golf 2012-15"
 99 Tips on using the Rules of Golf to Your Advantage
Below is a sample of Barry's Mail Out that you can receive on a regular basis simply by subscribing below.
Sign Up for his email here

Expand Your Knowledge:
..... Stance
Q1: Stance is not a requirement for determining whether a player has addressed their ball. True or False?
A1: True. This requirement was removed in January 2012.
Q2: A player may not hold down a bramble with their foot (as in the photo) to prevent it interfering with their back swing or stroke. True or False?
Image1

 

 

 



A2: True. Decision 13-2/1.

Q3: In a Stableford competition a player was uncomfortable with their stance on the teeing ground so they filled a divot hole under their foot with with a mixture of seed and sand from a box at the side of the teeing ground. What is the ruling? a) No penalty was incurred. b) One stroke penalty. c) Two strokes penalty. d) Disqualification from the hole.
A3: a) No penalty was incurred. Rule 11-1.

Q4: Which of the following is not a breach of the Rules? a) kneeling on a towel to play a stroke from under a bush. b) Carrying a mat to stand on it when playing from teeing ground in wet course conditions. c) Digging both feet into the sand in a bunker before making a practice swing in that bunker.
A4: c) Digging both feet into the sand in a bunker before making a practice swing in that bunker. Decision 13-4/0.5.

Q5: A player may take a stance partly inside a teeing ground and partly outside of it to play a ball that is inside the teeing ground. True or False?
A5: True. Rule 11-1.

Q6: After taking relief from a lateral water hazard, by dropping a ball within two club-lengths of where it last crossed the margin, not nearer the hole, for a penalty of one stroke, a player finds that although his ball lies outside the hazard part of his stance is on the line defining the hazard margin. He must re-drop his ball. True or False?
A6: False. Rule 26-1 does not require the player to take complete relief from the hazard, so the ball is in play.

Q7: The only way a player could take a stance for their selected stroke was to back into a branch, which caused it to break. The player incurs a penalty of two strokes. True or False?
A7: False. As this was the only way the player could take a stance for their intended stroke, no penalty was incurred. Decision 13-2/1.

Q8: In the photo, in taking a normal stance to play a stroke at their ball inside the margin of a water hazard a player's right foot would be on the artificial rock wall surrounding the pond. They may take relief by dropping their ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief in the hazard, not nearer the hole. True or False?
Image2







A8: False. Rule 24-2b. There is no relief from an immovable obstruction in a water hazard when the ball lies in the hazard.

Q9: Which of the following statements is correct? a) A player may remove a loose impediment lying out of bounds that interferes with their stance. b) A player may remove a pine cone in a bunker that interferes with their stance. c) A player may move a stone from underneath their foot in water in a water hazard.
A9: a) A player may remove a loose impediment lying out of bounds that interferes with their stance. Decision 23-1/9.

Good golfing,

If you have found this content interesting then why not follow my blog on the Rules of Golf at http://www.barryrhodes.com/ , or check out my eBook, quizzes and eDocuments on the Rules of Golf at http://www.RhodesRulesSchool.com
The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes ©2014 and may not be copied without permission. The answers to the questions in this series are referenced to the Rules of Golf 2012-2015 © 2011 and the Decisions on the Rules of Golf 2014-2015 © 2013, as approved by R&A Rules Limited and The United States Golf Association. The answers do not carry the official approval of the R&A or USGA. I shall not be held responsible for any loss or damage of any kind caused by reliance upon the accuracy or reliability of such information.

Sign Up for Barry's email here